Oil Pulling – an Ayurvedic Ritual

It has been 3 days since I started doing ‘oil pulling’ and since I decided to continue at least for 30 days want to share this experience with you. After hearing about this ancient Ayurvedic health technique and my recent flue I decided it is time to use it. Natural ways of healing are the best and been used for centuries.

How to do oil pulling?
Every morning right after I wake up, prior to eating or drinking anything – I take a spoonful of coconut oil and swish it around in my mouth for 20 minutes. As I do my morning routines, stretching/yoga 20 minutes fly by. You must do 20 minutes or 10 minutes in morning and 10 minutes in evening. Doing less is not effective.

Here is what my spoonful of coconut oil looks like:
20140310-184848.jpg

How does it work? What are the health benefits?

Prevents  bad breath

Strength gums, teeth, jaw prevents disease

Increases overall oral health

Relieves headaches

Supports kidney function

Whitens the teeth

Even at day 3 it is working for me; my sinuses feel better and my breath is very neutral – beats any mouthwash. Love using ancient methods to better my health. I will report back at the end of 30 days – stay tuned!!

UPDATE 3/18:
Yes I am still at it! every morning for 20 minutes. No my teeth are not whiter, at least that’s what I think, but my mouth has gotten healthier, and my skin is softer. The pulling has also consistently helped me clear my sinuses – at the end of 20 minutes, my sinuses release whatever is in there. Also the ritual has helped me do my morning yoga/stretches more consistently — nice to them at the same time. Will continue the practice, at least for 30 days and report back again. Let me know if you have any questions.

6 thoughts on “Oil Pulling – an Ayurvedic Ritual

    • Thank you for your interest. I can already tell you my teeth definitely feel less sensitive and think it’s helping me ward of a cold that’s trying to develop. Will keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

